Home - Breaking News, Events, Things-To-Do, Dining, Nightlife


House speaker announces appointments for Jackson-focused select committee

Lawmakers will soon be looking at further ways to improve the capital city and the surrounding area through a new select committee.

On Monday, Republican House Speaker Jason White announced appointments to the Select Committee on Capital and Metro Revitalization. Leading the charge as co-chairs will be Clay Mansell, R-Clinton, and Shanda Yates, I-Jackson.

“The Select Committee on Capital and Metro Revitalization is comprised of House members that are passionate and dedicated to improving Mississippi’s capital city for the betterment of the Jackson metro area and our entire state,” White said. “I look forward to this committee’s work as they seek strategic and innovative ways to improve and partner with the citizens and leadership of the metro area, recognizing the unique importance a vibrant capital city means for all Mississippians.”

Joining Mansell and Yates on the select committee are:

Chris Bell, D-Jackson Lawrence Blackmon, D-Canton Angela Cockerham, I-Magnolia Ronnie Crudup, D-Jackson Jill Ford, R-Madison Stephanie Foster, D-Jackson Justis Gibbs, D-Jackson Jonathan McMillan, R-Madison Fabian Nelson, D-Byram Gene Newman, R-Pearl Brent Powell, R-Brandon Fred Shanks, R-Brandon Lance Varner, R-Florence Price Wallace, R-Mendenhall Grace Butler-Washington, D-Jackson Lee Yancey, R-Brandon Hank Zuber, R-Ocean Springs

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Read original article by clicking here.

Local Dining Stream

Things To Do

Related articles