Home - Breaking News, Events, Things-To-Do, Dining, Nightlife


Machine-Gun Converter Ban, Closing Parchman, Medicaid Expansion: #MSLeg Roundup

A man carrying a semi-automatic pistol that he had modified to make it fully-automatic shot and killed George County, Miss., Sheriff’s Deputy Jeremy Malone during a traffic stop in Lucedale, Miss., on Jan. 4.

Mississippi House Speaker Pro Tempore Manly Barton, R-Moss Point, recalled the tragedy while speaking House floor on Feb. 27 as he introduced House Bill 903, the Deputy Jeremy Malone Act.

George County Deputy Jeremy Malone, pictured top-right with his family, died after authorities say a suspect shot him during a traffic stop on Thursday, Jan. 4, 2024. The Mississippi Department of Public Safety is hosting a GoFundMe fundraiser for his family featuring this photo. Photo courtesy GoFundMe campaign

Under the bill, people who make or own devices that convert semi-automatic guns into fully automatic machine guns could serve up to 10 years in prison and pay $3,000 in fines.

Read H.B. 903, the Deputy Jeremy Malone Act

“There’s a proliferation of glock switches and auto sears which are turning regular pistols into machine guns that can fire up to 30 rounds in 2.6 seconds,” Rep. Kevin Felsher, R-Biloxi, said on the House floor on Feb. 27. “Currently, it is only a federal offense to possess a modified weapon without an appropriate license or stamp. So criminals in possession of these modified firearms can currently not be charged at a state and local level.”

He said the Jackson Police Department seizes about 20 machine-gun converters each month.

The House passed H.B. 903 by a 112-8 vote; it now goes to the Senate. If the Senate approves the bill with no changes, it will head to Gov. Tate Reeves’ desk where he can choose whether or not to sign it into law.

Annual Training for Police Chiefs

Police chiefs and police officers at colleges, universities and the Pearl River Valley Water Supply would have to complete 20 hours of “executive level continuing education courses” each year under House Bill 418.

Read H.B. 418

New police chiefs would have to train for 40 hours during their first year in the position if the bill became law.

“With all the

Read original article by clicking here.

Local Dining Stream

Things To Do

Related articles