Home - Breaking News, Events, Things-To-Do, Dining, Nightlife


Stamps declared winner of Central District PSC seat

State Rep. DeKeither Stamps, a week after Election Day, was declared winner on Tuesday by the Associated Press of the Central District Public Service Commission seat.

In unofficial results, with AP reporting that 97% of precincts are in, Democratic challenger Stamps won with 131,727 votes, or 50.4% to incumbent Republican PSC Commissioner Bailey’s 129,593 votes, or 49.6%.

The three-member Public Service Commission, which regulates public utilities and the rates they charge customers in Mississippi, will have three new people starting in January — two Republicans and one Democrat (Stamps).

The other two PSC seats were decided in the August primary, with Republican state Rep. Chris Brown winning the Northern District and Republican challenger Wayne Carr winning the Southern District seat.

Current Northern District Commissioner Brandon Presley ran unsuccessfully for governor this year, and Carr defeated current Southern District Commissioner Dane Maxwell in the Republican primary in August.



Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

This article first appeared on Mississippi Today and is republished here under a Creative Commons license.

Read original article by clicking here.

Local Dining Stream

Things To Do

Related articles